Deal with it… July 14, 2011

Here it is, the final day of transformation. Over the past few months, I have been going through a lot of changes. Its almost like I started caring. Don’t get me wrong, I cared before, it’s just that I have started caring more. Its like my epiphany, having a clean house, makes me happy. I feel happy, inside and out. The whole house seems brighter and having everything organized and in its place seems to change the entire energy in our home. When my back porch is clean and not covered in seedpods from the tree next door, its nicer to sit outside with my plants, and as such I have made a habit to sweep off the porch every day when I water my plants.

The same can be said for, “embracing my feminine side”.  I have recently started doing regular manicure/pedicures, the Willow Finishing Course says to clean hands and nails thoroughly in the morning, and so 2-3 times a week, I go over rough edges with a file, push my cuticles down, put cuticle cream on, and I have the 4-edge nail buffer from the Body Shop which is amazing. Another great thing I have found, for those of us who have naturally brittle nails, which I don’t understand because my hair is strong, my teeth are strong, but my nails aren’t…. but the “green tea” nail stuff that they used to advertise on TV (you can get it at certain CO-OPs) One bottle goes a very long way, and it really helps to naturally strengthen and harden your nails without coating your nail with something and it doesn’t smell like chemicals. And it works

So, back to this being the final day. I have not gotten a hair cut in 3 years. I have had my fair share of bad haircuts, including one that was supposed to be a “Audrey Hepburn Pixie Cut” that ended up being a buzz cut that should have been on a guy… since then I have been so picky about how my hair gets done, and after another very bad haircut I have been leery of going to get my hair cut. So I just let it grow… However, it was so long that it went past my belt… and it weighed a ton and with my back and neck feeling the strain, I buckled down and went in to Marvel Hair College to get my haircut. The cut feels amazing, and I broke down and got bangs.

Now, my hair is straight, straight as an arrow, and its long, and thick and smooth, and as a result, I can never get my hair to curl, and if I do get it to curl, I need to load it up with hair spray in order for it to look half way wavy an hour later. So I have decided to try and see if my hair will take a perm, and if it does, and I really hope it does, I will have curly hair, finally! So I was originally booked for the perm on Tuesday, but I was told, that because they didn’t ask me what the length of my hair was, they didn’t realise how much time it would take to perm my hair, let alone cut it. The cut itself took almost 3 hours, and apparently the perm is going to be an “all day” thing so I am going in at 9 this morning!

I am so excited, and I feel so good. When you feel better about yourself, and your environment, its almost like it seeps out of you. I have more energy, I’m not tired all the time, and I have been up at 5 am with Eric every morning without going back to bed, also going to bed by 8:30 so I get my 8 hours of sleep.

All I have to say to people is take care of you.  Eat healthy food, brush your teeth, take time on your personal appearance, drink your water, and get fresh air and exercise every day. Not only will you feel better, but also you will most likely find you get more done.

Sometimes, you get stuck in ruts; I’ve had really bad allergies the past few weeks, which I originally thought was a cold. So of course, I was giving myself different cold medications, starting with the usual, Buckley’s and Benalyn and the likes, and then switching to some homeopathic remedies, and finally I just took a Reactine. Man I hate allergies. However, back to my rut, being on the cold medication, coughing, etc just wore me out, I was tired, and I couldn’t seem to get myself off the couch. I kept giving myself excuses for not doing things, like laundry, posting a blog, (even though I spend ages being a Facebook creep), cleaning, dishes etc. See, sometimes it is all in your head. As soon as I realised it was just allergies, and that I didn’t need to rest in order for my body to heal itself, it was like I just snapped out of it. The house is getting cleaner again, the laundry is almost caught up with, the bedroom looks like a bedroom again and the back porch is once again my herbal haven of bliss.

All I can say is that life is grand. It hasn’t always been that ways, sometimes its just plain hard, and sometime you just shake your head at the stupidity around you. But one thing I have learned, is that if you focus on YOU, and YOUR happiness, YOUR life will be full. Whatever makes you unhappy is in your control to change. All you need to do is figure out how to change it. Sometimes the changes we need to make aren’t what we want to do, but if you don’t weigh out all your options, you could find yourself in a permanent rut that takes even more effort to get out of.

Life sucks, deal with it and it will get better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

