A penny saved is a penny not spent… you already earned it…

So, this couponing thing. Couponing is very different in Canada. For instance you cant possibly get a $600 bill down to under $35, but I have personally achieved, through coupons, sales and other discounts a 23 and 30% savings on my 2 grocery trips last week. A friend of mine has had 50-62% off. For me, it is not a matter of extreme savings; so much as it is simply about… savings.
Saving every penny I can, because… a penny saved is a penny not spent. One other thing that I have been doing, is shopping by flyer. We shop at Co-op and Safeway, which is convenient because they are directly across the street from each other. When I go in, I ask at customer service for there next week flyers so I can plan my next shopping trip. If it isn’t on sale, we don’t normally buy it, except of course for the necessities like milk and eggs. Bread, when the kind we like is on sale, we normally buy several loaves, and put them in the freezer, this way we have bread, normally until the next time it goes on sale. Same goes for cereal, cheese, yoghurt, jams and spreads, sugar etc. basically, anything that you would normally buy, if you buy it on sale, its savings.
I don’t agree with extreme couponers tendency to “horde” his or her purchases, what can someone possibly do with enough deodorant to last 100 years… I think it is lunacy, those people do deserve to be on A&E’s Hoarders: Buried Alive, except for the fact that that most of there stuff is OCD organized on shelves. It is taking materialism to a whole new level.
I think if it was possible for me to coupon to that extreme, the local homeless shelter/food bank/etc would love me, because there are a whole lot of people who could benefit by the “free product” that these people have horded away.
So in regards to my “stockpile”, it is minimal. I used a Mr. Clean coupon last week, for $1.50 off of 2 products. They were currently on sale, 3 for $6, which means that I paid $4.50 for 3 bottles of cleaner, that I use for cleaning on a regular basis… so 3 cleaning sprays. French’s mustard was on sale 2/$5 and I had a $1 off coupon. We have 4 things of mustard, 4 different varieties. I use it to make homemade salad dressings so having quite a bit is good. I also had a coupon from the SUTP for $4.00 off a Safeway lasagne, they were on sale for $5.77, meaning I paid $1.77 for a lasagne, a simple dinner for when I don’t feel like cooking.
I am not extreme couponing at all, but for me, it is simply using sales, coupons and other discounts to give myself a bit of peace of mind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

